The Concord Covered Bridge Historic District was created by Cobb County in 1986. The district includes many historic structures dating back to the mid-1800s when milling communities developed along Nickajack Creek. The Concord Covered Bridge is the focal point of the surrounding Historic District and is truly one of Cobb County’s treasures and a precious part of its history.
On November 2nd & 3rd the 2019 Tour of Homes will be conducted by the Friends of the Concord Covered Bridge Historic District. Tickets for the Historic District Tour of Homes are available as of July 1st at the Friends of the Concord Covered Bridge Historic District’s Website – ConcordCoveredBridge.org/tourofhomes. This two hour guided tour including transportation will sell out quickly, so don’t miss out on this event.
The Ruff House Circa 1856
This traditional antebellum farmhouse, built in the early 1850s by Martin Luker Ruff, a founding member of the early Cobb community of Concord, has been lovingly preserved through the years. The recent restoration has kept the structure’s earliest components intact: nine working fireplaces, stacked-rock foundation, hear-pine floors, hand hewn beams, plaster walls and 11-foot ceilings. Step back 165 years as you enter this well-tended 12-acre pioneer farmstead replete with barn and outbuildings.
The Miller’s House Circa 1850
Built in the 1850s along Nickajack Creek, adjacent to a water-powered grist mill, this handsome “Plantation Plain” residence was occupied for many years by Miller Henry Clay Ruff, son of Mark Luker Ruff. Freshly updated to seamlessly blend today’s conveniences with the charms of yesteryear, it is a classic example of a mid-19th century rural Georgia house that was later victorianized. The residence and Ruff’s Mill were the site of a consequential Civil War battle in July 1864 and are both listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
The Gause House Built 1985
This atmospheric 20th century residence flanking the west end of Concord Covered Bridge, offers a most unusual floor plan on four levels- 14 rooms and only one of them square. Notable features include an arrowhead-shaped living room with ceiling ranging from 22 to 32 feet high, a piano loft, spiral staircase, bridge to the master bedroom and delightful unexpected architectural quirks at every turn.
Boxwood Cottage/Gann House Circa 1841
Built by State Senator John Gann, Smyrna’s oldest extant residence was expanded and exquisitely renovated in 2015. Every detail in this living museum, including vintage stained glass, elegant wood trims and ornate bronze hardware, was custom crafted to compliment the house’s original architectural elements. Anticipate a showcase of whimsical design touches, a remarkable antique quilt collection and authentic treasures collected from around the globe.
The Friends of the Concord Covered Bridge Historic District are committed to preserve, protect, and promote the history and legacy of this unique and irreplaceable part of Cobb County through education, celebration, and collaboration.
For ticket information, volunteer opportunities, sponsorship information and how to become a member of the Friends of the Concord Covered Bridge Historic District please visit www.concordcoveredbridge.org for more information.